Eight Sections Brocade (Baduanjin)

Mondays, March 5, 12, 19 & 26, 10:30–11:00 am
Presented by Melody Hsieh & iris yirei hu
12 participants maximum
Free, RSVP required

The Baduanjin (八段錦) (8 treasures, Eight Pieces of Brocade, Eight Silken movement) is one of the oldest known forms of Chinese qigong.

Variously translated as Eight Pieces of Brocade, Eight-Section Brocade, Eight Silken Movements or Eight Silk Weaving, the name refers the silken quality (like that of a piece of brocade) that is embodied within the eight individual movements in relation to one’s body and energy.

Baduanjin as a whole is broken down into eight separate exercises, each focusing on a different physical area and qi meridian. Baduanjin traditionally contains both a standing and seated set of eight postures each. Now, the standing version is by far the most widely practiced. We will learn and practice two movements per class.

This deep and slow breathing method allows the muscles to relax and our mind to be calm. Through practicing we boost our immune system, improve our physical fitness, and delay the aging process.

In contrast to religious or martial forms of qigong, baduanjin is a form of medical qigong that is meant to improve health. However, this categorization does not preclude the form’s use by martial artists as a supplementary exercise, and this practice is frequently used. The famous warrior General Yue Fei (11th century) taught this set of exercise to his soldiers to keep them strong, ward off plague, and be ready for battle. Thus, baduanjin is a timeless classic, simple and effective, and beneficial to practitioners of all ages, beginners and advanced alike. The best time to practice is in the morning.

The group will meet outside, weather permitting.

Melody Hsieh is the mother of Health/Care artist in residence iris yirei hu.